Simply Delicious | Vegan Beanless Quinoa Chili

Hello all! I hope your week is treating you well! Now even though we’ve had a few warm days recently, fall is the perfect time for some warm and spicy chili. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of beans (I know, how can I call myself a vegan if I don’t like beans?!), so as you can imagine I’ve had a more difficult time finding a vegan chili that didn’t contain beans. This led me to, by much trial and error, create my own version of chili, full of the yummy warmth to keep me heated through the crisp autumn months, minus the weird texture from beans and the gross gross meat. I hope you all enjoy this recipe as much as I do! Now let’s get into this…

photo_2016-10-19_06-42-47_pm1

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup rinsed Quinoa
  • Half a head of Cauliflower
  • 3-4 stalks of Celery
  • 1 can of Tomato Sauce
  • 1 can of Chili Style Diced Tomatoes
  • Minced Garlic
  • Chipotle Chili Pepper
  • Smoked Paprika
  • Onion Powder
  • Sriracha
  • Crock Pot (With this recipe, I can get away with using a small 2qt crock pot).

Steps:

  • Cook Quinoa. Usually this is a 1:2 ratio, IE 1 Cup of Water to 1/2 Cup Quinoa. Combine the quinoa and water, bring to boil, reduce heat to simmer and cover. Simmer for about 15-20min.
  • While the Quinoa is cooking, start prepping the veggies. Chop up the half of a head of Cauliflower into small chunks, about the size of a quarter or less. (I use the cauliflower as an added crunch, so I tend to keep them more towards the size of a quarter, but if you don’t like too much crunch in your chili, you can just cut them smaller and they will soften up). Chop up the Celery into thin pieces. I haven’t measured how thin “thin” is, but I’d probably say about a 1/4 of an inch??
  • Once Quinoa is done, toss into the Crock Pot.
    photo_2016-10-18_04-01-34_pm1
  • Add the can of Tomato Sauce and the can of Diced Tomatoes and stir in with the Quinoa.
    photo_2016-10-18_04-03-26_pm1
  • Add the chopped veggies. (If you are having trouble fitting anything into your Crock Pot, just slowly add a bit, stir in, and after a few minutes of cooking down, there will be extra room to throw in the rest. Don’t worry, this doesn’t affect the overall taste or texture of the chili).
    photo_2016-10-18_04-05-12_pm1
  • Stir in the rest of the ingredients! Typically I’ll eyeball a lot of the spices, and adding to taste. I know, I really shouldn’t be writing out recipes if I don’t have exact measurements. But hey, what are you going to do. I start out with around a tbsp of Minced Garlic, half a palmful of Onion Powder (how do you like that measurement?), a half palmful of Chipolte Chili Powder, a few tsp of Smoked Paprika, and around a 1/4 cup of Sriracha, then just add throughout to taste.
    photo_2016-10-18_04-06-39_pm1
  • Set Crock Pot on High and leave for a few hours, stirring every so often, tasting to make sure it cooks thoroughly.
    photo_2016-10-18_04-08-49_pm1
  • Enjoy 🙂
    photo_2016-10-19_07-30-12_pm1

Side note: I have frozen this recipe to reuse later on, and it freezes and thaws pretty well and tastes almost like the first day!

Save

One thought on “Simply Delicious | Vegan Beanless Quinoa Chili

Leave a Reply

