Let’s Talk About | Resolutions | Part One

So my last post was a bit of a mess. I’m working on changing jobs and dealing with some personal life stress, so I have been away a bit (I know, I really need to quit making excuses). I’m hoping that once my life is more stable and my working hours are more concrete, I’ll better be able to make this blog a more consistent thing. But until then, I’ll try to post about once a week. I can’t guarantee the day, but life is full of surprises, right? So here’s my first Let’s Talk About in awhile, it’s gunna be a long one, even a two-parter, so grab a beverage and settle in. Let’s Talk About resolutions.

Why aren’t you doing your resolution post at the beginning of the year, you may ask. Well the thing is, I don’t really prescribe to the whole “New Year’s Resolution” vibe. I’m all about resolutions and trying to better yourself, but I really don’t like that people feel the need to put it on a certain day. It puts all this weight on trying to nail a resolution down in time, and if you miss your “deadline”, well, I guess there’s always next year. And if you do pick one, it’s a lot harder to stick with if you made your resolution just because it’s “resolution season”. You see, you can make a resolution any damn time you want. Why do you have to put a certain date on it? When I became vegetarian, I’m pretty sure it was in like November. I didn’t want to have to wait until January just to get my life in check.

So here I am, writing a post about resolutions in February. No, I’m not claiming to be an expert, or trying to tell you how to live your life, or trying to tell you that you have to change your life. You do you. This is just my reflection on some resolutions I want to make, ones I have made, and how I went through or am planning on going through the process. I just figured I’d post it up, if it helps you, sweet, if not, then sorry you read this long winded post. The plan is to break it into two posts; Body and Mind. So let’s get into this


Body

Food

Vegan: Yea, I know, I’m going to be the stereotypical person with a vegan diet and recommend a vegan diet if you are trying to change to a healthier diet. But why wouldn’t I recommend something that has changed my life so dramatically in a positive way. I’ve seen great results from it and feel amazing. I’ve also known friends that have lost 5 lbs in a week just from going vegan. And there’s no cholesterol in a vegan diet and you can eat all the carbs.  Even by trying to eat a vegan diet a couple times a week can drastically improve your health. I just suggest that if you try to switch over to a vegan diet, do it slow. When I first decided to go vegetarian (with being vegan my goal), I first cut out bacon and other pork products, because I knew that would be the hardest for me to give up. Once I conquered that, I slowly started to give up chicken, beef, and the rest. (I rarely ate seafood, so that was a non issue). Then once I gave up all meat, I took a “break” from further limiting my diet, and it took me about a full year of being vegetarian for me to finally switch over to vegan, which I also took a slow approach. I feel like what most people fail when going vegan or vegetarian (or any other “resolution diets” or trends), they try to change too quickly, it becomes extremely difficult, and you go back to your old ways quickly. Not only does changing everything slowly give you time to get used to everything, it gives your body time to accept the changes and for you to realize what replacements you need to make in your diet.

Ingredients: So you don’t want to go vegan or vegetarian? That’s ok too. I’m not here to push veganism down your throat. Another great way to make sure you are eating healthier is to read all the ingredients in your food. I started doing this when I became vegan (you’ll never realize how much “sneaky” milk is in things), and I started to then realize how many unnecessary ingredients there are in things. Once you become a more conscious consumer, healthiness will follow suite. Even just getting into the habit of reading ingredients can be extremely helpful, and you’ll start to realize that you’ll be avoiding foods containing random ingredients you’ve never heard of. (Usually unnecessary preservatives, chemicals, added sugars, etc.) I know personally this is something I want to look into more as I’m trying to decrease eating processed food.

Workout

Fun: Ok this one I definitely need to work on. But typically the biggest reason I don’t work out enough is because I find it insanely boring. One way to get over that is to make your workouts more fun. Cardio? Make a playlist of fun dance songs and get DOWN. Dancing is still cardio, and it’s way more fun that running on a treadmill staring at a wall for a half hour. Don’t be afraid to have a one-person dance party. And now you can have fun trying all your ridiculous dance moves without worrying about judgement from others or knocking over someone’s drink. If you are a competitive person, make working out a game. Challenge yourself to how many push-ups, crunches, etc you can do in a given time and try to beat your record. Honestly, I wasn’t joking about the zombies thing. There needs to be a free app that you can use for when you’re running and it has zombies chasing you and you have to run away from them. (If this is a thing, please link it in a comment because I need it immediately.)

Variety: Making your workouts varied not only helps exercise different muscles, it helps keep it less boring. When I realized that I don’t go to the gym as often as I should (or barely at all…) I downloaded as many short exercise apps that I could. (I love the 7 minute ones). I picked the shorter timed ones because if I don’t have much time, I can just do one and at least some exercise is better than no exercise, but also if I have some more time, I can do a few and still get a varied workout. I don’t have the time to be bored since I’m constantly switching between workout styles.

Classes: This is another thing I really want to look into. I used to take kickboxing (which turned out to be expensive martial arts because I’m terrible at researching things properly and am really bad at passing up “act now” deals that aren’t really deals), and even though it was expensive, it was fun and it kept me on a set schedule of workouts. There’s always different classes everywhere, from yoga to boxing, just try to do your research before hand and make sure you know what you are getting before you sign up.

Other: Yes, there’s always taking the stairs instead of elevators, parking further from doors, etc, but I’m sure you’ve heard enough of that from every other blog. I’m trying to offer a different approach, although maybe not. Zombies?

Skin

Face: As I primarily post about beauty products, I’m sure you’ve heard enough about this topic from me. But I do consider it a resolution, as I’m trying to take better care of myself, body and skin. I’m really bad at sticking to a skin care routine because walking 10 steps to my bathroom to wash off my makeup when I’m already in bed seems so terrible. But you are stuck with the skin you are in, so I’m trying to take better care of it. So I’m going to make myself  a routine and work on washing and moisturizing my face every morning, regardless if I plan to wear makeup that day, and taking off my makeup (the new makeup remover I use, that I do plan to post about, also is a cleanser) and moisturizing my face at night, regardless if I have any makeup on. One way I’m going to try to stick with this is by putting my night clothes in my bathroom. It’s weird, I know, but it forces me to go to my bathroom before getting too comfy in bed. Once I’m in there, I’ll be less lazy to take off my makeup. Then in the morning, I’ll put my night clothes back in the bathroom and I’ll already be in there to wash my face. I’m hoping this will work, fingers crossed!

Body: Moisturize, moisturize, moisturize. Especially in this dry winter, I’m going to try to take better care of my skin. I’m going to start moisturizing after every shower, and make sure I keep hand lotion everywhere. My big excuse on not keeping up with my hands is that I left my lotion in my car, purse, etc. Hopefully this will help out more. Also, I’m going to try to drink more water. A great step into having clearer skin is by keeping properly hydrated. I’m not sure the science behind it, but it does work!

Ok this post has run on enough, and I think here is a good place to end it. What are some of your personal goals regarding body and health? Please leave them below, and let me know if this post helps out at all. Thanks for sticking with it to the end, even though it’s pages long!

One thought on “Let’s Talk About | Resolutions | Part One

Leave a Reply

