Current Obsession: Pixi Products

Hello everyone!

Within the past few months that I’ve been MIA, I have come to love and then be obsessed with all things Pixi. I’ve mentioned using their primer before, which was basically the gateway into the rest of their amazing products. Since I’ve fallen in love with many of their products, I’m going to just group them all into one post. So hold on tight, it might be a long one.

Flawless and Poreless Primer

2015-05-18 11.38.30

After trying and loving the Pixi Flawless Beauty Primer, I figured why not give this one a shot. Since they sell it in a tiny, travel size, it makes it easy to test out instead of buying a huge thing and wasting it if you hate it. If you read my previous post about their primer, you know how much I loved the flawless primer. This one, however, is way better. It has a great consistency, almost like putty. At first, you might think putty is not something that you want to put on your skin, however, it blends in perfectly and smoothly. It smooths over any pores you might have and gives your skin a nice tone while getting rid of any greasiness. As far as a primer for makeup, it definitely helps foundation and the like go on easier. When I wear makeup without this primer, I absolutely notice a difference in how long my makeup lasts throughout the day. The only downside is that it’s a bit pricey. Not too high end, but nothing like my previous drug store buys. In this case, though, I do think it’s worth it.

Lash line ink

2015-05-18 11.39.02

As mentioned before, I’ve become obsessed with eyeliner pens (or markers), and until now I never could find one that quite worked. Pixi’s Lash Line Ink is the best eyeliner I’ve ever tried (which is a pretty bold statement, given that I’ve tried my fair share of eyeliners). It lasts a long time (a few weeks for me, which is long given that I use it every day and most eyeliner pens dry out quickly), it’s super thin so precision is great, and even though it doesn’t advertise as waterproof or anything, it lasts all day long. I can put this eyeliner on before I go to work at 6am, work a long 9 hour shift, come home, and the eyeliner still looks as flawless as when I first put it on. As with most Pixi products, it is a bit steep for me for an eyeliner pen that I have to invest in every month or so (around $9…which let’s be honest, isn’t that much), but again, it’s worth it. I recommend at least trying this one out once, you’ll never go back.

Eyeshadow

2015-05-18 11.39.38

Now to be honest,  I first tried their eyeshadow only because I was looking for a green eyeshadow for St. Patty’s Day and surprisingly it was the only one I could find. However, their green eyeshadow came in the Mesmerizing Mineral Palette Emerald Gold, which had quite a few neutral tones to it. So, after St. Patty’s Day, I decided to try out these other colors. I had my suspicions that it wouldn’t work out, since in my past experience of mineral eyeshadow they tend to get everywhere besides your skin. To my surprise, Pixi seemed to do mineral eyeshadow justice. Yes, it does fall off the brush quite easily if you don’t tap the loose powder off before applying, but once it is applied, it’s amazing. The colors are perfect for just an everyday makeup as well as darkening it up a bit for evening wear. There’s just enough shimmer in it that it plays off your eye color and makes them pop, but not too much shimmer where it looks like you’re headed to the club. And the best part: I can work a hard, sweaty 9 hour work day and when I get home, I don’t have to reapply anything before going out to dinner afterwards. This eyeshadow is the only eyeshadow I’ve had that’s been able to last that long. I loved it so much I picked it up in the Silver Sky palette as well for a night time look. I’m still playing with the new shades a bit to find a perfect smokey eye, but I still would agree that it’s just as good as the Emerald Gold palette.

Glow tonic

2015-05-18 11.39.58

I’m leaving the best for last on this post. I’ve heard so many great things about Pixi’s Glow Tonic Exfoliating Toner, that I knew I had to give it a try. It gave me a rough time in the beginning, though. Apparently none of the Targets in my area (the only store I’ve found that carries Pixi products) carry the Glow Tonic, so I had to resort to purchasing it online. Also, this product is not cheap. I think I spent a little under $30 on this product, I think the most I’ve spent on a beauty product in my life. But from the reviews I heard, I knew it was worth it. And it was. After using this product for the first time, my face felt so clean. I’ve never had my skin feel so great. I use this product in the morning after washing my face and before moisturizing, as well as at night after removing my makeup. I have noticed a dramatic change in my skin condition. I’ve just started using this product maybe a week ago, and already I have almost zero spots and my skin tone is a lot more even. Even though the price is quite steep, it is good to know that the bottle itself is pretty huge and a little goes a long way. If you can get past the price, I would definitely check this one out.

What brands do you find yourself constantly reaching for? Please leave your comments below!

3 thoughts on “Current Obsession: Pixi Products

Leave a Reply

