Let’s Talk About… Base Makeup (Part 1)

First of all, I’d like to say that it might be a bit in between posts for a few weeks because my computer keeps acting up. It took me an extra hour to write up this post since my computer kept turning off the whole time. Good thing for draft saves! I’ll try to keep posting as I can.
Second; yes, I know I’m passing up on a great “All about that bass” pun. Let’s move on before I change my mind.

Primers

Since most of the makeup I use is powder-based makeup, I find primer extremely useful. It helps your makeup adhere to your skin to avoid a cakey look and helps keep your makeup on your face throughout the day. Now, for the longest time I was obsessed with Revlon’s color lasting primer, however, in light of Revlon moving to China and as policy there, they now test on animals, I knew it was time to make a switch. If there has been a change in this and Revlon goes back to being cruelty free, I will be the first in line for that primer though!
When looking for a new primer, I tried out a couple different brands.

IMAG0973
The first one I tried out was e.l.f. Mineral Face Primer. I was able to get this at my local Target for under $10, so I figured it was worth a try. I will note, that when purchasing this product I thought the package was purple, not the actual product, so you can imagine my surprise when I put some on my sponge and it came out a lavender color. I read that this color helps with spots, and then when you rub it into your skin, the purple goes away. When I did apply it, however, it went on a bit greasy on my skin and there was still a slight purple tint. As far as doing the primer job, it worked quite well and didn’t leave my makeup cakey, but it did make my face look a bit greasy even after just being washed. I knew this wasn’t going to be the product for me. (I will like to note also that e.l.f. have a couple different, non-purple primers that I want to try out as well since I do like e.l.f. the brand as a whole quite a bit.)

IMAG0972
The second primer I tried out was NYX Studio Perfect Photo-Loving Primer. Like the previous one, I got this one for under $10 at my local drug store. This one was clear, so there was no worries about purple skin. It went on pretty thin, which is nice, but it still felt a little bit greasy to my skin. I did like it quite a bit better than the previous primer, so I continued to use it and didn’t really look for another product for a short while. I thought maybe I was just spoiled by the Revlon product. However, the next time I was at Target I figured it was worth a shot to look at some other cruelty-free products they had there.

IMAG0970
This is when I found Pixi. They had a long range of products, but I didn’t know they were cruelty free until I did some research. They were a bit more expensive than I’m used to (not high-end prices by any means, but you know me, I’m a drug store makeup buyer). However, they did have a travel-size version for their Flawless Beauty Primer that was a bit cheaper than the regular size, so I figured it was worth a try. I immediately fell in love with this product. Not only does it go on nice and smooth, it has a slightly dark color shade to it, leaving your skin looking slightly bronzed. It also has a bit of a sparkle in it. And, to top it off, it helped my makeup to stay on all day and there was no cakey look. My skin looked smooth, and to add from the product name, looked flawless. It went over and smoothed out any pores or spots on my face and blended great with my foundation powder. I definitely will be purchasing the regular size bottle next time I’m out and I recommend this product to anyone.

3 thoughts on “Let’s Talk About… Base Makeup (Part 1)

Leave a Reply

