Lets Talk About… Skin Care

It is extremely important to take good care of our skin, it’s the only one we are given. (Unless you are like Hannibal Lector or something…ok no more cannibal jokes.) When I switched over to using cruelty free products, I found a multitude of options at my disposal. Here are just a few that I’ve tried; however I will add in some products that are cruelty free that I am planning on trying in the future.

Cleanser

IMAG0956
Now I only have one cleanser on here that I’ve tried, but that’s only because I fell in love with the first one I used. I have been quite obsessed with Lush bath products for awhile (I’ll probably post about my favorite ones in the future), and when I discovered they had a reasonably priced cleanser, I decided to try it. Their Angels on Bare Skin product is by far the best cleanser I have ever used. It smells amazingly of lavender, goes on nice and easy, and lasts forever. (It does have an expiration date, but I’ve used mine long past it and it still works fine. I suggest getting the smallest pot.) It is a dry cleanser, so all you do is break off a little piece (a little goes a long way) rub in some water, and you are good to go. One of my favorite things about this product is the consistency. For a long time, I thought you should get cleansers with beads, bits of grit, that the harshest would work best on pulling out blackheads or impurities. The opposite is actually true though. If you use rough cleansers, they do feel nice, however they are more likely to be harsh on your skin. You want to use something gentler to get the best results.
I am planning on trying out a couple other lush cleansers in the future: Ocean Salt (They just came out with a new Self Preserving one) and Dark Angels.

Moisturizers

Now when picking out a moisturizer, I look immediately for any with SPF15 or higher (yes, even in winter). The sun can be one of the most damaging factors against your skin, and it is important to protect your skin from it in order to get long lasting results. You won’t be needing as many wrinkle proof or age resistant products in the future if you just take the time to protect your face from the sun. I personally feel winter is the time when most people really need to be thinking about it. When you’re bundled up, often your face is still the only thing showing (because obviously we need to see), and the sun, even if behind the clouds, is definitely still there.
IMAG0958

The first product I found and tried when making the switch is Dessert Essence Gentle Nourishing Day Cream SPF 15. The first thing I noticed when I used this product was that a little went a long way. It went thick onto my skin and left a bit of drag. This product would be great for people with extremely dry skin, the winter, or even good for a body lotion for massage therapists (drag is important for that), however, when I use moisturizer on my face I personally want it to go on thin and light. This moisturizer was a bit too heavy for my taste, but if you need a lot of moisture for your skin, I suggest it.

IMAG0957
The second product I tried was Ology Facial Moisturizer SPF 15 (which you can find at most local drugstores now, you don’t need to go to any specialty store for it.) When I first used it, I noticed immediately that it was a lot thinner and lighter than the previous one I tried. My only note on this product is that you have to let it absorb for a couple minutes before putting anything else on your face, otherwise it rolls off a bit. After you let it sink it, it makes your face soft and smooth, doesn’t smell like sun screen, and works great with make up. I definitely recommend this product.
Future products I plan on trying out: Simple Moisturizer with SPF 15 (Although I am not certain if this is a cruelty free product, more info about this down below), and Say Yes to Carrots (they have other products called Say Yes to Cucumbers, Grapefruit, and other types of veggies or fruit. I think I’m going to try Cucumbers)

 Makeup Remover

One of the most important things you can do for your skin is to remove your makeup at the end of the day. Now, I know this seems like a no-brainer for most, that leaving on makeup overnight will result in blemishes and more impurities absorbing into your skin. However, if you are like me and when you get all settled and ready for bed, the last thing you want to do is get up to take off your makeup, it becomes a chore. This is why I personally love using makeup wipes (when I do get off my lazy butt to actually take off my makeup). They are easy and save time.

IMAG0960
The first product I used is Burt’s Bees. I love their chap stick and I figured their wipes will be just as great. I do want to note, however, that the brand was recently bought out by Clorox, a company that tests on animals. Burt’s Bees still does not tests on animals itself, but if you have a problem with parent companies that tests their other products on animals, you might want to think twice about purchasing Burt’s Bees from now on. This is one of the few reasons why I’m looking outside the company as well for other products.

IMAG0959
I recently just started using this product, Simple cleansing facial wipes, and so far I am quite impressed. It is as it says, tough on makeup and gentle on skin. Most of the makeup I use is waterproof, and these wipes get off almost all of my makeup in just a couple wipes, however they aren’t harsh on my skin at all. I like that they are cleansing wipes as well, as it helps get off any impurities that my skin might have acquired in the day. My only potential problem with this product, as I briefly mentioned above, is that I am still unsure about it’s stance on cruelty free. I have done quite a bit of research on this matter, and have found contradicting information on it. It seems to lean more to cruelty free, but it is owned by Unilever so I am a bit leery. If you have any information on this, please leave a comment below.
Given this fact, I am definitely planning on trying out some other brands. Say Yes to… is going to be another brand I will turn to for this type of product. I will let you know how it works out!

As always, please add to the list with your own products and experiences!

3 thoughts on “Lets Talk About… Skin Care

Leave a Reply

